Events & Opportunities

Events & Opportunities

2021 Dan David Prize Award Ceremony


Professor Alison Bashford, Director of the Laureate Centre for History & Population, will be officially recognised for her wide-ranging work on public health, medicine, disease control, borders, and quarantine on Sunday the 9th of May. Professor Bashford will accept her award alongside Prof. Katherine Park, Prof. Keith Wailoo, Dr. Anthony Fauci, Prof. Zelig Eshhar, Dr. Carl June, and Dr. Steven Rosenberg. The broadcast of the award ceremony will begin at 6pm BST (London), 1pm EST (New York), and 10am PST (Los Angeles). For those in Asia the ceremony will begin at 10.30pm IST (New Delhi), 1am CST (Beijing and Hong Kong), and 3am AEST (Sydney).

To register, please follow this link.


Laureate Centre Manager


Applications have recently closed Centre Manager to manage the day-to-day and long-term strategic operations of the Laureate Centre for History & Population. We’ll be in touch with applicants as soon as possible.

In mid 2021 we will appoint a Centre Manager to manage the activities of the Laureate Centre for History & Population at UNSW and provide support to Centre Director Professor Alison Bashford, associated project teams, and other internal and external stakeholders. The successful candidate will be appointed for a fixed-term of five years (0.8FTE).

The Laureate Centre for History & Population is a 5-year Australian Research Council-funded research centre directed by Professor Alison Bashford. Working with Professor Bashford and the Laureate team, the Project Officer/Coordinator will organise conferences, seminars, lectures and workshops, develop and manage communications, contribute to a range of projects at various stages of development, administer budgets, and take responsibility for the Centre website. An understanding of or experience in historical research will be highly regarded.

Applications closed on April 30 2021.


Laureate Postdoctoral Fellows


Applications have recently closed for Postdoctoral Fellows. We’ll be in touch with candidates as soon as possible.

In July 2021 we will appoint three (3) Laureate Postdoctoral Fellows to undertake independent and collaborative research on aspects of the modern (post 1800) history of population policy; the intellectual history of population and political economy; and/or the international history of population debate, including environmental history dimensions. Preference may be given to historians or historical geographers of India, China or Japan, or of the United Nations’ engagement with population matters.

The Laureate Centre for History & Population is a 5-year Australian Research Council-funded research centre directed by Professor Alison Bashford. Working with Professor Bashford, Laureate Postdoctoral Fellows will contribute to a reassessment of modern world history by centrally analysing population change and population policy, at national, regional and international levels within a ‘multiple modernities’ framework, and by analysing Malthusian theories, their uptake, translation and critique, across a range of modern polities. Environmental, economic, and intellectual historians, as well as historians of gender and health are invited to apply.

The Centre’s research program is structured around four intellectual strands: Bio, Geo, Eco, Cosmo.

Postdoctoral appointments are for three years, commencing July 1 2021 or soon thereafter.


PhD Program


Inquiries regarding PhD study with Prof Alison Bashford at the Laureate Centre are welcome. Two Australian Research Council Laureate Scholarships are available from 2021.


Laureate Visiting Fellows Program


The Laureate Visiting Fellows Program aims to bring scholars at all career stages to Sydney to enhance research carried out at the Laureate Centre for History & Population.

Laureate Visiting Fellows will be provided with office space in the Centre for History & Population, library access at UNSW, a return economy airfare to Sydney, and up to 4 weeks accomodation. During their stay the Fellows will be expected to deliver a seminar, convene a workshop or symposium with members of the Laureate team, and participate in the regular activities of the Centre.

More details about the Laureate Visiting Fellows Program will be released in mid 2021.

Please contact Interim Centre Manager, Dr Jarrod Hore, with any enquiries. You can reach Dr Hore by email: j.hore@unsw.edu.au


%d bloggers like this: